Skip navigation
MrReel
Currently Being Moderated

Why does my video become longer after exporting from Flash?

Nov 21, 2012 8:21 AM

Tags: #youtube #video #export #flash_cs5 #quicktime

I am a relative novice in Flash and working in CS5. When I test my file, it plays perfectly with the audio I embedded in my timeline. I tried a couple different compressions when exporting into a Quicktime file, but my video which is only 32 seconds long at 30 fps becomes 52 seconds long! The animation slows considerably, and yet the audio I embeded plays perfectly. Any advice as to how I can get it to match the "test movie" option so I can get this bad boy on YouTube?

PLEASE and THANK YOU!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 21, 2012 9:19 AM   in reply to MrReel

What is the nature of your animation? Is it all timeline based or do you mix scripting?

If you mix scripting probably your best alternative is a SWF to Video converter.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 21, 2012 10:43 AM   in reply to MrReel

You'd know it if you did it so no worries. You're in the best possible scenario for exporting a movie. Can you take a look at the metadata in the video you export and mention what codec, resolution and frames per second it reports. Also verify if the resolution matches your Flash animation or not. Just open the file in Quicktime and hit Show Movie Info, it should be in there.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 21, 2012 11:54 AM   in reply to MrReel

I see the folder icons and they look Mac so are you on OSX 10.8 Mountain Lion? Adobe has mentioned CS6 is not compatible with Mountain Lion.

If there isn't anything confidential in the FLA, you can PM me a link to download it and I can attempt to export it using Windows. I'd need you to hit File->Save As and use the drop-down to save the FLA to version CS5.5. I'd like to see if I get the same results exporting your animation on Windows.