Skip navigation
Fredkadet
Currently Being Moderated

Not understanding why i am getting white lines in PDF And JPG

Nov 22, 2012 4:55 AM

Tags: #indesign #jpg

Hi all,

First time poster here, many thanks for your help! I have been using the Adobe creative suite for a couple of years now and have recently started using Indesign more and more, loving it.

Recently I ran into a spot of trouble and can't figure it out. I made a document using text boxes, an image, a few placed EPS files on a dark grey background (rectangle with a fill). All colors used are process colors, the EPS files are in process aswell, done in Illustrator. Somehow my red (process 15 100 90 10) text and EPS lineart is getting a weird whitish outline when exporting to PDF and when exporting to JPG. I know about the white line bug/thing in PDF but didn't think this would show up in a JPG... Here are two screendumps of the PDF and the JPG:

PDF

http://postimage.org/image/tsu5i293r/

JPG

http://postimage.org/image/60tdmw275/

Anyone any ideas why Indesign is doing this, again, any help is much much appreciated.

Cheers,

Fred, running Indesign CS 5.5 7.1.3 and illustrator CS5 15.1.0

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 22, 2012 5:08 AM   in reply to Fredkadet

Hi Fred,

Do those white lines appear when you view the documents (JPG and PDF) at 100%?

If not, I would not worry too much about it.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 22, 2012 5:57 AM   in reply to Fredkadet

And you made sure that the object / text has no line and the color is set to "none" (diagonal red line)?

Can you put the PDF online and share the link with us?

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 22, 2012 6:42 AM   in reply to Fredkadet

Looks like antialiasing of some sort to me.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 25, 2012 8:54 PM   in reply to Fredkadet

Hello Fred,

I exported the vector stuff out of the PDF as EPS, opened it in AI, saved the logo as an AI file, copied and pasted the other vector stuff into ID from AI.