Skip navigation
katg61792
Currently Being Moderated

InDesign keeps outputting the SAME color on different pages incorrectly

Nov 27, 2012 2:18 PM

Tags: #help #color #pdf #indesign #output #incorrect #print #colors

I am a design student trying to print a final project for over a week with the same results. Basically, I have a five page brochure with the same blue color bar on the top of each page, over a faint grey background. I have wasted so much money with the printer, but every time, it prints three of the pages darker. I kept double checking the colors, and everything was the same. I then created a new document where I set the pantone colors on a master page and then put the content over that, but the same thing happened. I have no idea what could be causing this. It isn't clear on InDesign, but once I export a high quality print PDF, I can tell the last three pages look different on Preview. I reordered them and those specific pages were still wrong. What could it possibly be?! Thanks for reading/helping in advance.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 27, 2012 2:26 PM   in reply to katg61792

Is there some form of transparency (effects like drop shadows are also transparency)? This sounds like a problem with transparency flattening.

You mentioned Pantone colors. Are these spot colors? Is the intent to print on a printing press? If not, then spot colors should be avoided. Your spot colors will be converted to CMYK at output on a digital printer, so you are better of being in control of the conversion if you insist on spec'ing spots. One method would be to go to the Ink Manager (from the Swatches panel flyout menu) and check both the Convert All Spots to Process and Use Standard Lab Values for Spot Colors boxes. This will conver the spots inside the document, and will use the values that most closely reproduce that color (very few spots can be truly accurately simulated in CMYK) in your chosen CMYK working space.

|
    Mark as: