Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Aligning layers

Nov 28, 2012 3:19 AM

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 28, 2012 3:19 AM   in reply to Community Help

I have no idea what this means: "Choose Layer > Align or Layer > Align Layers To Selection".

Is there a command, "Choose Layer"? If there is, where is it.

I am equally lost with every other part of this help.

It would really help a newbie like me uf the help started with what version of Photoshop.

Then please explain what you are doing. I am a Ps CS6 newbie, and this help only confuses me.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 28, 2012 4:18 AM   in reply to Mark.Stewart

Is there a command, "Choose Layer"?

There is a menu item »Layer«.

|
    Mark as:
  • Noel Carboni
    23,469 posts
    Dec 23, 2006
    Nov 28, 2012 4:23 AM   in reply to Mark.Stewart

Think of the word "Choose" as "Click the Mouse on the Menu Item Entitled..."

Edit:  Christoph beat me to it. 

-Noel

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 18, 2013 9:02 AM   in reply to Community Help

I cannot get the layers to align/distribute evenly spaced between them. I select the 5 layers I want. One of those layers is far left, the other far right (my outside edges of the group) The other 3 layers fall between the left and right. With all 5 layers selected I and the move tool selected I choose Distribute Horizontal Centers. WHICH should leave the exact same "blank" space between each image... IT DOESN'T!! It overlaps images where is shouldn't and leaves no space and between others it leaves a random amount of space. I have read al the manuals, I know how to use the command in AI, Indd and Quark... but it just isn't working in PSD CS6. Is there a layout positioning preference or does snap need to be off, the layers linked or in an order... what is it? --thanks for your help it is driving me nuts!

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 18, 2013 9:14 AM   in reply to JMGFLA