Skip navigation
bsward774
Currently Being Moderated

Can anyone help me cut a word into an image?

Nov 30, 2012 8:26 PM

I believe it is called merge?? I am new to illustrator and am working on learning new tricks,  I have come to a road block here.  

Here is a set up:

I have font image with a tail connected to the font,  Inside the tail i have another font that i want to weld, merge or whatever you call it so that when i remove the letters it is for say burnt into the tail so when i print it there will be no color.  ( I am screen printing t shirts)    see image for more details    basicly I want to screen print the image below in black, and keep the cafe hollow so it will take on the color of the shirt. 

Thank you in advanced

charlies.jpg

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 30, 2012 9:26 PM   in reply to bsward774

The simplest way is to make an opacity mask

1 select both text objects (Charlies and Cafe)

2 Go to the Transparency Panel and Click on Make Mask buttton in CS6 in other version select Make Opacity Mask from the flyout menu.

3 uncheck clip and check invert (that's because Cafe is white which is the masking object)(if Cafe were black you would not invert)

That's it.

Screen Shot 2012-12-01 at 12.20.01 AM.png

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 30, 2012 9:32 PM   in reply to Wade_Zimmerman

BTW if the letters in Cafe are outlined then you have to select all the letters and go to Object>COmpound Path>Make before performing any of the steps above.

You make the compund path if it is live text it is not necessary to make the compund path. (Unless it alredy is a compund path You will know that by looking in the layers panel.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 30, 2012 9:36 PM   in reply to bsward774

Another way is if the letters are outlined and are a compound and Chalies is also outlined is selected both of them and using the Pathfinder Panel hit the second top icon from the left. That is minus front.

You get this again.