Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

After an upgrade, is the older version of indesign still available to create documents?

Dec 4, 2012 1:13 PM

If I upgrade from my standalone Indesign CS3 to the standalone Indesign CS6, will it still be possible to create a document using CS3? I am not a design professional and hire freelancers from time to time; it’s my impression that currently the freelance universe of those using CS3 is still significantly larger than CS6 [obviously that will change over time]. Even though I’m happy to upgrade to CS6 [and would need to do so by Dec. 31st], I would like to have the option of creating a document in CS3, so that those freelancers who still use CS3 could read it. Thanks in advance for you help with this question [PS - my computers run Windows XP professional SP3].

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 4, 2012 1:22 PM   in reply to Tschurin2

Your CS6 installation does not do anything to alter the usability of your CS3 installation. You should be very careful, though, about saving older files in CS6. If you overwrite the CS3 version you will not be able to open them in the old version again. There are also enough reports of odd problems trying to update legacy files by opeing them directly in a new version since CS5 that I strongly recommend if you wish to migrate any of your files from CS3 to CS6 that you export them form CS3 to .inx, then open the .inx in CS6 and save as a new .indd file with a new name so the original is not overwritten.

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 4, 2012 1:31 PM   in reply to Peter Spier

A few other caveats worth pointing out: