Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Map art not covering corners of 3D object leaving them white.

Dec 7, 2012 4:08 AM

Tags: #cs4 #illustrator #bevel #art #map

I'm trying to create a glass bottle with a cork and the "map art" function isn't working properly. I turned a cork pattern into a symbol and applied it to the top and sides of the cork (which looks excellent btw), but as you can (barely) see in the picture it's leaving a white outline around the edge of the front and back. Is there a trick to fixing this that I'm not aware of yet? I'm still pretty new with illustrator.

The-Deisgn-Hut-Logo.jpg

This isn't a full screen version of the bottle so it's nearly impossible to see the white line.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 7, 2012 5:10 AM   in reply to SeanPercy42

...but as you can (barely) see...

I can't see it at all. Zoom into the problem area and take another screenshot.

It's probably just the way Illustrator antialiases (or doesn't) edges of bitmaps that are mapped to 3D Effect objects, and you may not be able to eliminate it completely without some kind of post-editing. There is a multitude of settings that may affect the rendering in a particular case; resolution of the mapped raster image, document raster effects setting, how you've scaled the raster image in the mapping window....

So without seeing your particular file, or at least knowing all the parameters, one can only guess. When mapping raster images, 3D Effect's rendering is affected by your Document Raster Effects setting. So that's a first thing you might try. (Don't go nuts with it; bear in mind the actual resolution needed for your final delivery purpose.) That will likely minimize the artifact, but may not eliminate it completely.