Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

buying a monochrome postscript printer

Dec 8, 2012 8:04 AM

Hi,

I'm looking for inexpensive monochrome postscript printer. I spent a lot of time searching for reviews, feedback and choices but I can't find comprehensive sources of information about this.

The printer will be used mostly for printing my daughter's student assignments. However I'm also a graphic designer and on occasions I would use it to hard proof the detail appearance of fine text and graphics but on the other hand I have enough experience with how it outputs in print shops and I have a lot of printed samples of various fonts in different sizes so, with this and my experience I think I can even get away without a home printer but my daughter needs it and if it doesn't cost much more to use it for my needs too it will be nice to have it. I used to have for more than a decade a 1200x1200 post script laser printer that died several months ago and I haven't been current to what's available now.

I will greatly appreciate any links, pointers, and advice.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 8, 2012 10:32 AM   in reply to GSIDesign

Look at the Dell printers; esp the refurbed ones. They have real Adobe PS3.

As Scott says the 3250DN has PS3 and is on sale at OfficeMax for $279.99

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 8, 2012 10:28 AM   in reply to GSIDesign

I've got a Xerox Phaser 3250.. works wonderfully... around $350 US.

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 8, 2012 10:32 AM   in reply to GSIDesign

Xerox has one at the upper end of your price range:

http://www.office.xerox.com/printers/color-printers/phaser-6500/enus.h tml

For not a whole lot more, may I suggest the Phaser 6600?

http://www.office.xerox.com/printers/color-printers/phaser-6600/enus.h tml

Take care, Mike

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 8, 2012 10:59 AM   in reply to GSIDesign

GSIDesign wrote:

Tank you Larry and Scott,

I'll check Dell

Scott, is this the same printer?