Skip navigation
hawklearn
Currently Being Moderated

Site broken after simple CSS tweak uploaded DW CS6

Dec 8, 2012 12:01 PM

Hi,

I'm a subscriber to Creative Cloud, using DW CS6 for CSS tweaks and ftp uploads.

See this site: http://www.santafe-webdesign.com. I have been using DW since 1996, keeping it updated. A few weeks ago I moved from CS5 to CS6. I found that as soon as I did this, I would break websites when I uploaded simple CSS changes using DW ftp. My websites would turn into blank white pages, as you can see (I'm going to restore the site asap, so depending on when you see this post, the site may be back up).

Initially I thought maybe my new Macbook Pro had a bug. Anyway, I learned that DW had an update that addressed this problem, so I updated DW. The problem still existed. I finally learned via the forum that DW need the line break setting in Code formatting in preferences to be set for Windows. I thought that solved the problem, but the exact problem is back.

All I did today was add a tiny bit of CSS to the template css file and upload it. Again, my business is down online.

What in the world is going on?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 8, 2012 12:19 PM   in reply to hawklearn

Hi Hawklearn,

It showed up as a blank white page for me. I would restore from a prior version in the meantime like you described. I'd recommend posting about the issue on the Dreamweaver forum.

-Dave

|
    Mark as:
  • Liam Dilley
    6,719 posts
    Feb 28, 2012
    Dec 8, 2012 2:14 PM   in reply to hawklearn

No need, I moved this over. You can delete the other one

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 8, 2012 3:03 PM   in reply to hawklearn

Your website files were not uploaded in the server root folder per your link.as of 6pm EST

I found them fully functional in a subfolder named testakeeba

http://www.santafe-webdesign.com/testakeeba/

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 8, 2012 4:28 PM   in reply to hawklearn

First, what is the purpose of the subfolder named testakeeba ?