Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Can't select some objects/text boxes

Dec 9, 2012 7:59 AM

Hello,

I'm very new to using FrameMaker.  I'm editing an existing document, and some objects and text boxes seem to be locked.  I can't select them even though I am double-clicking on them.  What could be the problem?  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Nikki

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 9, 2012 10:54 AM   in reply to nikkisantoro1980

Are these objects on top of an imported graphic in an anchored frame?

If so, the usual suspect is Frame's default behaviour of tagging such things with Runaround enabled, which makes them unselectable.

Select the background object with the graphics sprite.

Graphics > Runaround Properties

[*] Don't Run Around

There are so many people who wish this was the default (or at least a preference), that there is an aftermarket tool to control it.

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 19, 2012 12:04 AM   in reply to Error7103

I think this question (plus the knowledgeable answers from the forum) can usefully be appended to this thread …

I have a master page with a header area, which includes a referenced .eps. The first time I placed the .eps, just to test it, I had to scale it down to 10% to fit the layout. Once I was OK with the layout, I went back to Illustrator to rescale the graphic there. FM must have decided to anchor the graphic on its original bottom right corner, because now it's been rescaled in Illustrator it shows up half way down the page and apparently underneath the body text frame.

I say "apparently", because that was my first thought about why I could no longer select the graphic and reposition it where it belongs. However, neither sending the body text frame to back nor moving it so it doesn't overlap the graphic makes any difference: the .eps is sitting there smugly and refuses to be selected.