Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Multiple HDDs

Dec 10, 2012 12:44 PM

I've been using PE 10 for about 6 months and am gradually starting to feel familiar with it --after many years using PE 2.

The PC is a new (March 2012) Dell 8300 Windows 7 Pro SP1; w/core i7, 1.5TB HD SATA, 4GB ram.

I want to add a 2nd internal HD.  In my search I'm trying to decide between a WD caviar green 2TB SATA drive and a WD caviar black 2TB SATA drive.

Below are excerpts from a WD comparison chart.

The caviar black drive is somewhat more expensive than the green, but WD seems to position it for video editing.  I would like to know if anyone has any experience or suggestions regarding choosing the black over the green.  The detailed specs of the two drives seem to be the same; the only difference is a 5 year warranty for the caviar black, vs 2 year for the green.

Any comments suggestions would be appreciated.

Replies
  • Ed.Macke
    683 posts
    Mar 17, 2006
    Dec 10, 2012 1:56 PM   in reply to oldevhs

WD will position it for whatever they think people might use it for! They would position it as a great bagel maker, too, if it sold more units

Personally, I'd go for the Black (or, although you don't mention it, perhaps their Blue line). I recall reading somewhere that that the Green drives made too many sacrafices to make it a contender for video editing usage. Of course, I can't find any references right now, so take that for what it's worth.

For me, getting the top of the line drive is worth the few extra dollars you might spend on it when you factor in how long you're going to have it and how important the data is you're storing on it. Plus, video editing is one of the more demanding things asked of a hard drive (lots of data needed quickly). Like the old saying "you can't be too rich or too thin", your drive can't be big enough or fast enough so go for the best you can afford. You don't want to skimp on hard drives with video editing.