Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Appearance Palette question

Dec 12, 2012 9:32 AM

I am absolutely sure that I am doing something wrong here, but please bear with me – I am new to the Appearance palette

See screen shot attached. (the text "Helvetica")

I have created some live text (ie: it remains editable)

I have given it a fill of black and a heavy (7pt) stroke of blue.

I cannot appear to rearrange the stroke so that it falls beneath the fill

I assumed it would simply be question of dragging it below, as one would with the Layers

However, when I converted the text to outlines (in this case the text "UNIVERS") it works.

And also why are the eyes in the first coloumn grayed out when the text is live.

But not so when text is outlined?

Can anyone point me in the right direction with this?screen shots.jpg

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 12, 2012 9:57 AM   in reply to Paul Stedman

Live text always has the stroke above the fill. Always. You can't change it and you aren't doing anything wrong.

If you want live text with a stroke, apply the stroke above the character level, and not at the text level. In other words, select the text with the Selection Tool (Black Arrow) then click the "New Stroke" button on the bottom of the Appearance Panel and move that stroke below the Characters.

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 12, 2012 10:07 AM   in reply to Paul Stedman

To enable what you want to do you will need to explore the Add New Stroke and Add New Fill in the Apperance panel. The easiest way to do what you want is to select the text and in the Appearance panel choose Add New Stroke. Click-hold on that row in the Appearance panel and drag in below the line that says Contents. You can also play with removing the fill at the character level entirely and then with the Add New Fill you can use a pattern fill for the letters. Remenber that the stroke will be half hidden by the fill.

Screen Shot 2012-12-12 at 10.03.01 AM.png