Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Newb question about Application.cfc vs .cfm

Dec 18, 2012 6:26 AM

Sorry for this total newb question that's probably been covered a bazillion times, but I'm having some trouble getting things to work.  I should know all this stuff, as I've taken the CF9 advanced training, but when you have 60,000 pages worth of content back at the office waiting to be converted to a new design, there isn't much time to practice what you learned in class.

A lot of my office's website is leftover from when we were running CF 6.1, so everything uses Application.cfm files.  Now that we're running CF8 (and may soon move to something even newer), I'd like to get everything modernized, including getting my Application.cfm stuff into an Application.cfc file.  One of the reasons I want to do this is because I have a few apps that I want to use OnRequestStart() methods for.

My problem stems from the fact that our Application.cfm file does a lot of things like setting global variables, doing queries, and other things that I can't seem to get to work inside an Application.cfc file.  Particularly odd is the fact that I recently set up a CF10 site for my wife's business's websites and was able to get Application.cfc working without much trouble, leading me to suspect a setup problem with my office.

I tried following the guide on Hostek's forum, but to no avail.  I can't seem to include the contents of our old Application.cfm file in the new cfc.

Any tips?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 18, 2012 6:31 AM   in reply to BreakawayPaul

Yep, first tip: show us the code that isn't working, and explain in what way it's not working, ie: what you expect it to do, and what it's doing instead.

Other than that, your question is too nebulous to be able to answer properly beyond "yeah, it should all work".

--

Adam

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 18, 2012 7:21 AM   in reply to BreakawayPaul