Skip navigation
pats52
Currently Being Moderated

Help with Publish+Share Options

Dec 18, 2012 5:50 PM

I am a complete novice with regard to video editing.  I currently have a trial version of Premiere Elements 11 to make sure it can do what I think I want. 

My goal is to be able to take HD home video I shoot with the Canon Vixia HFM500 and publish movies to my computer’s hard drive.  From my computer, I plan to play the movies on my HD TV (which can handle full HD) through an HDMI connection while hopefully maintaining the same quality as the original files.  I would like the option of burning the project to a blu-ray at a later date, but that is not my plan right now.

The files imported into Premiere for this project are in AVCHD format (1920x1080; 29 fps as specified in the file properties).  I finished putting together all the clips, adding transitions, etc, but am extremely confused trying to figure out which format to select for export under “publish and share". 

Do I select MPEG or AVCHD under “Publish+Share ->Computer:Choose location and settings”? 

Depending on which is selected (MPEG or AVCHD), what is the best “Preset” setting for what I want to do... m2t, mp4, 1080i, 1080p, 24 fps, 25fps, 30fps, HDTV???

I expect my videos to be pretty long (~2.5 - 3 hours each)... will I be able to fit each video on a single blu ray?

So many options/combinations... so much confusion.

Any help is appreciated.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 18, 2012 9:18 PM   in reply to pats52

Importing Video http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1065281

-and project settings http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1112086

Saving & Sharing http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1051093

Sharing for Computer http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1058237

Steve's Basic Training Tutorials... steps are the same for several versions

-http://forums.adobe.com/thread/537685

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 19, 2012 5:15 AM   in reply to John T Smith