Skip navigation
johnnyspo08
Currently Being Moderated

Using a network-stored catalog with Mac OSX

Dec 29, 2012 1:58 PM

Tags: #mac #catalogs #network_storage

Greetings all.

I am using Photoshop Elements 11 on Mac OSX Mountain Lion and want to store my catalog on a local network drive (FreeNAS).  I have encountered many problems while attempting to do this.  Then I noticed in the Elements Organizer help, under the section "Repair a catalog", the following: "Note:  (Mac OS) You cannot access catalogs present on a network drive."

Is this true. or has someone found a workaround to the problem?

Thanks!

--John

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 29, 2012 1:59 PM   in reply to johnnyspo08

Yes, this is true, unfortunately. You can store a catalog and images on a removable drive, but not a network drive.

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 2, 2013 11:42 AM   in reply to Barbara B.

Hi Barbara,

may I please ask an additional question and excuse any stupidity because I am a newbie:

Now even though you cannot store a catalogue on an network drive it is obviously possible to store the photos themselves on the network. Having done so, I have then been forced to move the files to a different folder. The Organizer has then lost contact to the files. However when I try to reconnect the photos the system just says that the photos are to be found on an external drive and prompts me to reconnect the external drive. Is there a way to tell the organizer that the files are now in a different folder on the network ?

In addition to that: Have you ever come across problems with the access rights for the photos on the network drive ? I have been unable to delete files on the network drive after I had added these to the Organizer catalogue. MAC OS X (10.6.8) did not let me write or delete files no matter what I tried.

Thanks for any help.

Andibuch

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 2, 2013 2:35 PM   in reply to Andibuch

Well, yes, these are part of the "no network drive" thing.