Skip navigation
SeanieOS
Currently Being Moderated

PE9 - Getting my exported videos to match my imports

Jan 1, 2013 5:45 PM

Tags: #windows_7 #premiere_elements_9 #import_settings #export_settings #.ts_files #frame_size

Hello

I'm new to PE9, in fact I'm new to video editing period. I never realised it was so complicated..

I use a DVR to record TV shows to a USB Hard drive. The recorded files are .ts files. I downloaded GSpot 2.70a to see their details but unlike with say .avi files when you open a .ts file in GSpot it doesn't give any "Video" info, it only gave me this info:

Container

File Type: MPEG-2 Transport Stream

Mime Type: video/mp2t

Proposed Codec solutions and Tests

Render OK. The following combination of filters was used:

(Src) ->

(A) -> MainConcept MPEG Demultiplexer ->

(B) -> MPEG Audio Decoder ->

(C) -> Default DirectSound Device

If I right click on the .ts file in Windows 7 I get this info in the Details section under the files properties:

Video:

Frame Width: 720

Frame Height: 576

Data Rate: 15000

Total Bitrate: 15192

Frame Rate: 25

Audio:

Bit Rate: 192

Channels: Stereo

Audio Sample Rate: 48kHz

I change the file extension from .ts to .m2ts then PE will import it. After a few goes of importing these .m2ts files the audio and video were going out of sync and I read on a forum to get StreamClip and convert the .ts file to an MPEG and then import that. When I do the conversion from .ts to MPEG using StreamClip I input the Frame Height and Width and Frame Rate that I see in the Win7 properties window for the .ts file so I try to match them up.

Now for my PE9 Project Settings I choose: DV PAL Standard, 25fps, 720x576, Upper Field First and import the .ts file that is now converted to an MPEG.

I make my edits and now the audio and video are staying in sync.. great. To export I choose this route: Share>Computer>MPEG>PAL DVD Standard