Skip navigation
reluctantcouponer
Currently Being Moderated

I have audio, but no video

Jan 3, 2013 10:31 AM

I am brand new to video editing and barely computer literate.

I am using the trial version of APrE 11 in Windows 8. My lap top is AMD A8-4500M APU with Radeon HD Graphics 1.9 GHz, 6GB RAM with a 64 bit operating system.

When I import my .mov files into  APrE, I get video, but no audio. But with Windows MovieMaker I get both.

I tried using G-Spot to find the CODEC, but I get "CODEC status undetermined".

If you need more info, please tell me how to find the info you need.

I hope you can help. I was really excited about using this program!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 3, 2013 10:48 AM   in reply to reluctantcouponer

Welcome to the forum.

What version of Apple's QT Player do you have installed? If not the latest, then install the most recent.

I would download and install MediaInfo (it's a utility, like G-Spot, but does some files better), and see if you can get the info on the CODEC used: http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/en

Good luck,

Hunt

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 3, 2013 2:18 PM   in reply to reluctantcouponer

Glad that Apple's QT Player fixed the no video problem.

Looking at MediaInfo, that Audio Stream should be just fine. PCM/WAV @ 48KHz 16-bit is as good as it gets.

First test would be to play that file in say VLC Player, and listen to how it sounds there. If it is good, then move onto test 2.