Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Panasonic HC-X900 and Adobe Premiere Elements 11

Jan 4, 2013 10:16 PM

Hi,

Anyone have experience working with Panasonic HC-X900 and Adobe Premiere Elements 11, on a MacBook?

I'm trying to find the best configurations so that I can make an HD movie but no matter what I do, the quality is always a little fuzzy.

I'm a newbie, so please go easy  :0)

Thanks!!!

Vin

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 5, 2013 8:33 AM   in reply to Vidis3

That camcorder is an AVCHD camcorder and you should be able to edit it in Premiere Elements 11 (assuming you shot in HA or HG mode). 

Are you shooting in 60i or 60p? When you go to Edit/Project Settings, what settings does it show? In Expert mode, is there a yellow line above the clips on your timeline?

The biggest challenge may be that your computer isn't fast enough to edit AVCHD footage. MacBooks are designed for portability, not power. A MacBook Pro would have no problems. But MacBooks are generally underpowered for high-end work.

Which version of OSX do you have? How fast is your processor and how much RAM do you have?

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 6, 2013 6:21 AM   in reply to Vidis3

Thank you. You are at the lower end of he requirements for editing high-def video.

When you answer the rest of my questions, we may be better able to help.

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 6, 2013 1:53 PM   in reply to Vidis3

If there is a yellow line above your clips when you add them to your timeline, your project is not set up properly to work with this type of video.

Is a clip from this video the first clip on your timeline? If you go to Edit/Project Settings, which settings are displayed?

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 7, 2013 3:10 PM   in reply to Vidis3

Your project is clearly not set up for 60p.

Start a new project and, on the New Project panel, click Settings and then select the setting for Full AVCHD 1920x1080p60. Then, back at the New Project panel, check the option to Force Settings on Project.