Skip navigation
MOyler45
Currently Being Moderated

Blurry Photos

Jan 8, 2013 4:31 PM

Tags: #photos #pictures #blurry #pe11

I'm using PE11 to make a picture slideshow video.

I imported high resolution photos and they are blurry upon playback.  After reading many similar posts, I realize I needed to resize my photos so they they won't be blurry.  In addition, I rendered my project.

Unfortunately after resizing my photos to no larger than 1000x750, my pictures are still blurry. I thought maybe they were too big, so I resized them again to half that size.  Still they are blurry.

I'm new to using PE11, so clearly I'm missing something. Also, many of these similar posts were answered with "Use Photoshop to resize your pictures."  I don't have PS (nor can I afford it), so please don't answer this post with anything pertaining to that program. 

Question is:  what do I need to do in order for my photos to be clear upon playback?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 8, 2013 5:08 PM   in reply to MOyler45

What is the Frame Size, in the Project Preset, that you chose at New Project?

Also, remember that if you are working on a DVD oriented Project, you are dealing with relatively low-resolution material (720 x 480), so if you are viewing that on a high-rez computer monitor, it will never look all that good.

In the Program Monitor, I recommend testing the sharpness of the Timeline material at 100% (scaling up the Program Monitor to fit the 100% Magnification, in lieu of choosing Fit).

Good luck,

Hunt

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 9, 2013 7:10 AM   in reply to MOyler45

The Program Monitor is the viewer, where you view your Timeline in playback. If you Rt-click on it, you will get a menu, and in it will be Magnification. There, you can set the magnification. The default is Fit, but I like viewing at 100%, to see the quality, at its highest level. Note: you will likely have to resize the Program Monitor, to see the full Frame. See this image: