Skip navigation
Cateleb12
Currently Being Moderated

MAC CS5 - PC CS5.5 - MAC CS5 = crashing

Jan 11, 2013 5:42 AM

Tags: #cs5 #mac #cs5.5 #crash

A document was created in MAC CS5, packaged and sent to PC CS5.5.  All masters, styles (para, text, table, cell) are created and then exported as INDML. Opened in MAC CS5. Formatting all okay until I images are placed (ia, indd, pdf - under 2mb). Document now ready for proofing. Exporte to PDF - CRASHED. After this initial crash, every time InDesign was relaunched, it crashed. At this point I don't have any information on the MAC. I am a freelancer. My computer is the PC CS5.5 (on-site) - Client MAC CS5 (off-site). I don't want my client seeing (on-site) PC as being a problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 11, 2013 6:46 AM   in reply to Cateleb12

This is, honestly, no way to work. You should both be on the same version.

That said, the fact that you are Windows and the client on Mac is NOT a factor here but if you can get the crash reports and post them on pastebin.com with a link here, maybe someone can help.

Bob

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 11, 2013 6:50 AM   in reply to Cateleb12

The continued crashing on launch probably means there's corrupt data in the InDesign Recovery folder.

Clearly something in the file is a problem in some way. Did you use any unsupported features (not a likley cause)? My suspision is that there is a bad image, which has nothing to do with the PC.