Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Flash Builder 4.7 Content Assist, Templates, etc

Explorer ,
Jan 15, 2013 Jan 15, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Problem

It's been years since I used Flash Builder (/Flex Builder), so my expectations may not quite align with reality - I'm not 100% sure how it's supposed to be functioning. I've been using FlashDevelop for the last several years. In any case, features I'm expecting from Content Assist don't seem to be working properly. Examples (ignore the '*', I'm using this as a formatting bullet below, I'm not actually typing it in the code editor):

* var foo:Bar = new Bar();

Within a function, constructor - where Bar does not yet exist as a class. I am expecting, but not given, the option to create Bar as a new class (web search indicates this is a feature that should exist, via 'Quick Fix'?). Pressing Ctrl+Space after ':Bar' yields 'No All Proposals'; Ctrl+1 yields 'Convert local variable to field; Convert local variable to parameter; Split variable declaration'.

* privateFuncDoesntExistYet();

Can't get an option to generate this function if it doesn't exist yet.

* function

According to templates, typing this, I'd expect to be presented with a template? The word 'function' turns green (as per code colouring), Ctrl+Space does nothing, Ctrl+1 "No suggestions available". Turns out that after awhile, if I type 'functio' without the 'n', I then get presented with the option to choose 'function' from the context menu as a template, which works - but if I type the 'n', I lose this option...

* event

I get the option to proceed to type/select 'event body', to generate the body of a custom event, which works... but nothing about 'event handler'; which appears under Editors/Code Templates/Flash Builder? Typing event handler yields nothing.

* [

I've seen a few articles for Flash Builder 4.5 that indicate that I should be able to get Content Assist for Meta's, like [Event(name,type)], etc? This triggers nothing.