Skip navigation
Premiere Beginner!
Currently Being Moderated

Strategies Needed for Muting Short Segments & Beep Overlay

Jan 22, 2013 5:16 PM

Tags: #mute #beeps #short_segments

Within a clip, how do I mute (silence) multiple, short segments that are comprised of only one or two words? 

I am also considering how I might then overlay a "beep" sound over these muted spots? 

I greatly appreciate your support . . . I am a beginner (this is my first time doing any video/audio editing).  Thank you!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 22, 2013 6:06 PM   in reply to Premiere Beginner!

You simply keyframe the audio levels.

You can download my free "Basic Keyframing" tutorial on this page.

http://muvipix.com/products.php?searchphrase=basic+keyframing&btn.x=0& btn.y=0

How you keyframe audio depends on which version of the program you're using.

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 23, 2013 3:44 AM   in reply to Premiere Beginner!

In Steves books, you can also look for Audio Mixer.

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 23, 2013 4:08 PM   in reply to Premiere Beginner!

For most Effects, one CAN Copy them, and then Paste them into other Clips, and the Fixed Effect>Volume is one.

However, as Keyframes are time related, when a "source" Clip differs in Duration from the "destination" Clip(s), more handwork is usually required to adjust those Pasted Keyframes.

The process for the Copy/Paste is, as follows:

1. Make adjustments to the first Clip, as required.
    2. Rt-click on that Clip, and choose Copy.
    3. Select all other "destination" Clips, Rt-click on them, and choose Paste Attributes.

Just remember that Duration differences will require manual adjustment to the Pasted Keyframes.