Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Incorrect Pantone Plus values in CS6?

Jan 23, 2013 4:45 PM

Tags: #photoshop #cs6 #creative_cloud #pantone_plus

There is a noticeable difference between color values specified in Pantone books/Color Manager and CS6. For instance, the correct RGB value for Pantone 158 CP should be 228/126/26, whereas Photoshop's RGB value for the same color is 245/127/41.

I have a subscription to Creative Cloud and all applications are up to date. When will this be fixed?

Screen Shot 2013-01-23 at 4.39.17 PM.pngScreen Shot 2013-01-23 at 4.39.57 PM.png

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 23, 2013 5:03 PM   in reply to kf420

The Pantone values came straight from Pantone.

There is nothing to be fixed.

You're just confusing several things.

Pantone CP means CoatedPaper -- it's a specific spot color, so it has LAB values.  It has no specific RGB values, and that color has to be converted into whatever RGB profile you are using at the time (for example: the numbers for sRGB and ProPhoto will be different).  The same goes for CMYK - the spot color has no specific CMYK values and has to be converted (coated and uncoated papers will need different numbers, as will different ink types).  Pantone does have suggested sRGB values (in an sRGB book that we don't ship), and suggested CMYK values for certain printing conditions (and we do ship some of those).

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 23, 2013 7:46 PM   in reply to kf420

Photoshop's Pantone Color Bridge Coated and Uncoated books are defined as CMYK values. The value you get for a given colour, say 158 CP, in a sRGB document varies depending on the Working CMYK profile and conversion options revealed by the More Options button in Color Settings.

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 23, 2013 6:31 PM   in reply to kf420

No, you don't seem to undestand the Pantone books.