Skip navigation
TheSonicZone
Currently Being Moderated

Trouble With Vectors

Jan 28, 2013 11:38 AM

I designed a logo for my cousin's business and provided them with the file as an EPS.

Now the companies that make the signs and t-shirts are saying the images are not vector. I am fairly new at Illustrator, so I am trying to find what I've done wrong. They said the file looks as though I put in a jpg and just saved it as an EPS. That is not the case at all. The image was created with strictly shapes and typeface. Most letters were created with a font other than the L's which are roller skates that I designed using basic shapes. I also right-clicked on the font and chose "Create Outlines."

What else could I be doing wrong?

Here is the EPS file.

Thanks for any help in advance!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 28, 2013 11:42 AM   in reply to TheSonicZone

You're using pixelbased effects, those will be converted to pixels in the EPS.

How will it be printed?

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 28, 2013 11:46 AM   in reply to TheSonicZone

Tell them this is a CS6 file, and you are using gradient strokes, so they need to have CS6 to open your file.

You could save a copy down to CS5 .eps, that will expand the appearance of your strokes.

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 28, 2013 11:54 AM   in reply to Mike Gondek

The artwork could very easily be exapnded, merged, and then filled with that rainbow gradient. Once that's done, saving as an eps will result in a flat, no issue, no raster, eps file.

As Mike posts.. they need to open the file with CS6.. or you need to adjust the file for those without CS6. That gradient across the strokes isn't going to ever translate to an older version of Illustrator.

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 28, 2013 12:47 PM   in reply to TheSonicZone

Basically you need to...

- Remove that guassian blur shadow. That will never be vector (no "blur" will)