Skip navigation
crw1381
Currently Being Moderated

Cannot copy and paste text into Photoshop CS6

Jan 30, 2013 4:20 PM

Tags: #clipboard #imac #photoshop_issues

I am not able to copy and paste text from non-Adobe programs (like Keynote or Word) into Photoshop CS6. I get an error message reading "Could not complete the Paste Text command because the clipboard data is empty or invalid." I have tried shutting down Photoshop, shutting down other programs, re-starting my computer, adjusting my Preferences and asking Adobe for help by phone and chat. I am on a new iMac and have no third party plug-ins installed. Can anyone help?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 30, 2013 6:10 PM   in reply to crw1381

I have never tried to do this before but fired up Word and was able to paste text in. Since the button is not greyed out in PS (you get an error message rather than the inability to click paste button), and given the error message, it seems more like a clipboard problem than a PS problem. So, can you paste from Adobe programs into Photoshop? And can you paste no problem outside of Photoshop? Wish I could be more immediately helpful but I think you really have to make sure that this is a Photoshop problem.

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 30, 2013 6:10 PM   in reply to crw1381

Did you reset the preferences?  Start PS and hold down cmd option and shift keys.  You will get a reset window.

Can you copy and paste from Word to other programs?

Are all the operations on the same internal drive?

|
    Mark as:
    Calculating status...
    Jun 27, 2013 12:59 PM   in reply to crw1381

crw1381,