Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Practical uses of Java script

Feb 5, 2013 1:01 AM

Tags: #java #script

I've been doing web design for a good few years, but have never dabbled in JavaScript. Partly because my background is design, so coding can seem a bit daunting, and partly because its never seemed something I need for the sites I do. They tend to be basic brochure sites, or database stuff with a bit if PHP and mySQL.

Although I've used JS in sites, it's usually been off the shelf stuff

for a particular thing.

At the moment I'm freelance, but sometimes look for jobs, and JS always seems to be a basic requirement. So I always feel a bit stuck, as even with a few years experience and a reasonable looking portfolio, I don't even seem to possess the basic requirements for a web design job.

I guess the answer is to try to learn a bit, but I wondered if anyone could give any pointers as to some typical practical applications that might help the penny to drop with the sorts if things I could be doing with JS. Because I think that's half the trouble - not really knowing what I'd do with it if I did learn a bit.

Sorry if that's all a bit vague, but I know that this is a great forum for advice.

Thank you!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 5, 2013 6:49 AM   in reply to johngordon12

The absolute must knows of web design in my opinion are HTML, CSS and Javascript then server scripting languages (like PHP) and databases (like mySQL).

That being said, definitely take the time to learn Javascript, even if it's just to understand how to handle the pre-made jQuery (jQuery = simplified javascript function library) scripts available for free online.