Skip navigation
mcstampfunk
Currently Being Moderated

Save metadata to file?? What's it good for?

Feb 5, 2013 11:10 PM

Tags: #file #save #to #metadata

I am finding that going to File>Save Metadata to File is not really needed.  I changed some metadata like the caption and notes and I don't choose that option in the menu. I then examine the file in Photoshop, and the metadata has already been updated. The metadata gets updated by itself for JPG files, and the XMP file in RAW files gets updated too without me doing anything extra.

What is Save Metadata to File good for then? Am I missing something?

Thanks.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 5, 2013 11:28 PM   in reply to mcstampfunk

Some kinds of metadata like captions, notes are written automatically in the file headers, others, like keywords, are not.

|
    Mark as:
    May 23, 2013 1:51 PM   in reply to mcstampfunk

I'm missing something.  I'm new to PSE 11 but not to PSE.  I am new to Mac though.  I don't recall ever seeing the "Save Metadata to File" before now, and I've certainly added enough keyword tags over the years and never used this command.  Is this a Mac thing?  When is it necessary?

I know captions, but what notes are you referring to?

With the data migration & version change, I've lost all my version stacks.  I've been stacking manually for the most important/recent images but I come back another day & could swear I'd already stacked those images previously.  Could this Save Metadata to File be a factor here?

|
    Mark as:
    May 23, 2013 11:48 PM   in reply to SK Prairie Chicken

SK Prairie Chicken wrote:

I'm missing something.  I'm new to PSE 11 but not to PSE.  I am new to Mac though.  I don't recall ever seeing the "Save Metadata to File" before now, and I've certainly added enough keyword tags over the years and never used this command.  Is this a Mac thing?  When is it necessary?