Skip navigation
anchorbay
Currently Being Moderated

Rendering a ship or boat hull

Feb 6, 2013 1:41 PM

Does anyone kow of a good way to shade or render a ship or boat hull? I have tried to use gradient mesh, but am not happy with the results. I am relatively new to Illustrator and am still learning. I am a marine artist switching from airbrush and pen to computer graphic illustrations. I am using the latest version of Illustrator. Thanks! Karl

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 6, 2013 2:10 PM   in reply to anchorbay

I think you should send us a screen shot of what you are trying to achieve.

A rendering of a boat hull is a bit vague. For example do you mean a naturalistic rendering or a schematic one?

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 6, 2013 2:11 PM   in reply to anchorbay

The gradient mesh is a fairly advanced tool. If you want to have better control, take a look at the plug-in Mesh Tormentor (it's free). And take a look at this, it will give a good introduction in how meshes work: http://vectorboom.com/load/articles/web_roundups/mesh_tormentor_plugin _complete_guide/13-1-0-18

On top of it all, you should be prepared that you might need more than one object to render the hull. That means stacking of (semi)transparent objects, usaga of masks and blend modes to achieve your result.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 6, 2013 3:29 PM   in reply to anchorbay

Karl,

If you are working with (inner) paths that reflect the shapes, you may consider blends (Object>Blend>Make). If relevant, you should try to have matching Anchor Points, and in Object>Blend>Blend Options, you may use Smooth Color or Specified Steps and Align to Path.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 6, 2013 11:32 PM   in reply to anchorbay

Blends and/or gradients are what you are looking for. Jacob’s way is probably simplest.

Gradient meshes, with or without clipping masks, are another alternative but like Monika says, they take a bit of practice.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 7, 2013 2:35 AM   in reply to anchorbay