Skip navigation
tba20042003
Currently Being Moderated

Is transcoding necessary?

Feb 11, 2013 11:39 AM

Tags: #software #editing #transcoding #elements_11

Is transcoding necessary? I have a PC running Windows 7, Adobe Premiere Elements 11, and shoot with a Canon 5D Mk2. I am new to movie making with my DSLR and am keen to learn more. If transcoding is necessary, what software is required? Is it easy to do? Thank you.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 11, 2013 12:10 PM   in reply to John T Smith

It's impossible NOT to transcode, pretty much. Unless you're putting miniDV footage in, not adding any effects, and getting DV footage out.

Whatever you plan to do with the finished movie you make from the video from your camera (put it on a DVD or BluRay, post it to YouTube, share it with friends) it's going to need some sort of transcoding to convert it to the format that the medium requires.

Or are you askng something else? Like if Premiere Elements 11 can edit video from that camera in its native format? Because, if you are, it can -- but, again, when you output it (especially if you've addeed any titles or video effects to it) it's going to have be re-encoded and pretty like transcoded to an appropriate video format.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 11, 2013 12:11 PM   in reply to Steve Grisetti

BTW, have you checked out our free 8 part Basic Training tutorial series? It's a great way to get up and running with the program and to keep from making costly mistakes early on.

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/537685?tstart=0

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 11, 2013 1:52 PM   in reply to tba20042003

tba20042003 wrote:

Is transcoding necessary? I have a PC running Windows 7, Adobe Premiere Elements 11, and shoot with a Canon 5D Mk2. I am new to movie making with my DSLR and am keen to learn more. If transcoding is necessary, what software is required? Is it easy to do? Thank you.