Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Premiere on a SAN, lag issues

Feb 12, 2013 8:04 AM

Greetings!

I'm a video editor and motion graphics artist for a corporate company that just purchased a NexGen SAN system (it was a great deal price wise). It's basically a RAID of SSD's with a RAID of regular hard drives for long term storage. When files are used frequently, they are copied to the SSD's. My HP Z400 has a Fiber 10Gbps PCIe card installed and I.T. used a software package called metaSAN (Tiger Technology) to monitor the system (the drive is mounted as a letter drive). When I'd copy my Premiere and After Effects projects over, not only would I get horrible playback with uncompressed footage, but the lag for scrolling through my files was terrible. However, I could load each QuickTime uncompressed file in QuickTime player and it plays back 100% smooth. Only in Premiere it stutters.

I.T. eventually returned the metaSAN software due to backup software incompatibility. Now the SAN drive is just mounted via the same letter drive. Not only is playback worse, but I locks up Premiere when I hit play. When I load QuickTime files vis the QuickTime player, the files play back terrible.  I've tried several combinations of cache locally, cache on the SAN, Premiere project on the SAN, Premiere Project locally. Basically, I'm back to editing 100% with my GSpeed RAID10 drive.

I've read a lot on Premiere and it's problems with XSAN, but I haven't found anything on a regular SAN. Why would this happen? I.T. is 100% Windows based and everything is on a domain (I did do a test with my computer off the domain and same issue).

Is there a workaround or a fix?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 12, 2013 8:45 AM   in reply to ScottRwn

I don't know if any of this will give you any direct help, but I have some saved links from previous discussions

No current version of Premiere works properly, if at all, over a network