Skip navigation
Wood N Treasures
Currently Being Moderated

Very basic question...

Feb 12, 2013 11:48 AM

Hello all,

I am a beginner with Dreamweaver and have been reading and watching tutorials.  I am trying to get started with Dreamweaver and need to actually do it in order to learn.  I don't retain very much just by reading.  All I am trying to do is create a simple layout with a header, a footer, and a three column layout in between.  Here's what I have done so far:

I began with a background image.  Then I created a container div 900px wide.  I added a heading and tag line for the header.  I created a body div beneath that which is 600px wide and is intended to hold the content.  I have a 130px column floated to the right and another to the left.  The left will hold links to future pages within the site.  The right will hold links to other websites, resources and so forth. 

My problem is this:  I cannot get the three columns (divs) to line up with one another.  The left and right seem to be in line, but the body div is always above the other two.  It is centered, but I can't get the left and right columns next to it.  When I click "inline" under Block, in the CSS Rules, it causes the body div to stretch across the entire container div (900px instead of 600px).  I'm sure the fix is simple, but I am struggling.  Any thoughts?  I have the code from my styles sheet below if that is helpful.  Thanks for any help you can offer.

#container {

width: 900px;

background: #FFF;

margin: 0 auto;

padding-left: 10px;

padding-right: 10px;

overflow: hidden;

}

#body {

width: 600px;

margin: 0 auto;

padding-left: 10px

padding-right: 10px;

}

#left_column {

width: 130px;

display: inline;

float: left;

margin: auto;

}

#right_column {

width: 130px;

display: inline;

float: right;

margin: auto;

}

Chris

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 12, 2013 11:53 AM   in reply to Wood N Treasures
    1. Go to File > New > Blank Page > HTML > Layout.