Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Using mixed resolutions in a 3D DVD

Feb 13, 2013 1:54 PM

Tags: #3d #dvd_build

Hi,

I'm putting together a 3D DVD using Encore. The video files were provided to me as "side by side" format .avi files. Some are 2560x720 and some are 2560x1024 and some 2560x972, for example. Does that matter? Do I just import them, as is, into Encore and just link the menu items to the individual video files?

Upoon export from Encore, do I need to do anything special to ensure the TV set recognizes this as 3D and combines the "side by side" images?

I'm also doing an anaglyph version (red/blue) Same questions as above. Do I need to know anything special about creating these two 2D discs? All video files were provided to me as .avi files.

Thanks in advance. This is my first attempt with 3D and Encore (and only my 2nd Encore project!)

-Karen

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 13, 2013 3:04 PM   in reply to kar13

Encore does not do 3D.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 13, 2013 8:14 PM   in reply to kar13

My revised comment is that Encore will not author menus in 3D. It will apparently pass through (I am assuming pass through is the concept) side by side 3D.

This thread was the most in depth I found. As to whether it is accurate or works I do not know.

http://3dvision-blog.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=2326

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 14, 2013 12:31 PM   in reply to kar13

Well, I seem to have deleted my partial response...

Anyone out there actually doing this? And if so, what are the specifics of the file imported to Encore?