Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Creating a 3D sphere in AI

Feb 13, 2013 1:54 PM

Hi All,

I'm pretty new to Illustrator, and I'm having a challeng with creating the look I want using 3D Revolve. The sphere is part of a logo, and needs to essentially match the color of part of the logo, but I also want it to have a smooth 3D quality. Hard to explain in writing.

To start, here's the color I want to be predominant in the sphere:

color.png

Here's what I've come up with thus far:

sphere_1.png

This is as close as I've been able to get to the original color, but there's no gradation between the shades. Here are the 3D Revolve settings:

Surface: Plastic Shading

Light Intensity: 50%

Ambient Light: 70%

Highlight Intensity: 95%

Highlight Size: 95%

Blend Steps: 256

Shading Color: Black

And here's another experiment:

sphere_2.png

This has the blend from dark to light I'm looking for, but the base color has become much more purple, and doesn't really match the original. Here are the settings for this version:

Surface: Plastic Shading

Light Intensity: 40%

Ambient Light: 0%

Highlight Intensity: 100%

Highlight Size: 100%

Blend Steps: 50

Shading Color: None

I've played around with diffuse shading, but haven't even come as close as these two samples. So basically, what I'm looking for is the base color of the first sample (maybe a little lighter), with the blend from dark to light of the second.

Thanks for any input or suggestions, and I'll be happy to provide more info if needed.

Sam

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 13, 2013 2:14 PM   in reply to Interstellar Icon

You could easily achieve the same look with a radial gradient. And it might be easier to control as well.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 13, 2013 2:44 PM   in reply to Interstellar Icon

Icon,

To achieve a look like the one in the second image with the right colour (transition), you may:

1) Create the circle with fill/nostroke,