Skip navigation
at_play 158 posts
Jun 27, 2004
Currently Being Moderated

What is a "cut vector pdf"

Feb 13, 2013 6:27 PM

Doing a layout for a client and they said they need a cut vector pdf for their printer. They are going to have my layout printed into a sign.

I don't know what a cut vector pdf is and I am very new to using illustrator. I just started using it two days ago for this specific project.  I found the save to pdf option but I don't know what cut vector is, do I need to do something to cut it up or something?

I have creative cloud cs6 and am using illustrator cs6 for this project.   I got no clue here what they are looking for.  I can save it out to pdf is that what they mean? 

This is for an actual profesional printer they will be taking this to and they will make the sign from the file I give them.

Any help here will be much appreciated as you can tell I have no idea about the file format for printing printing.. I mostly do projects for the web and don't come across print print projects much.

If there are any tutorials out there you know of about this video would be great but text based will work too, please share.

Thanks.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 13, 2013 7:00 PM   in reply to at_play

Artwork suitable to be cut via a plotter.  Call a local sign shop, they'll be able to give you direction.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 14, 2013 4:45 PM   in reply to at_play

Essentially you need to ensure everything has a solid outline. No glows, shadows, feathering, etc. Think of it as if you had to cut the artwork out of construction paper. Hard edges only.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 14, 2013 5:06 PM   in reply to at_play

It's not really possible to advise you accurately without knowing more about the project specifics.

Generally speaking "cut vector pdf" is someone's sloppy way of saying they need vector-based paths for a plotter/cutter to follow in cutting sign vinyl. I don't know why they want it specifically in PDF format.