Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

iPad screen shattering (real or fake)?

Feb 15, 2013 8:27 AM

I'm fairly new to After Effects and I was wondering what the workflow was for getting a video closeup of something like an iPad or device hitting the floor and the glass screen shattering.

• Does the device actually have to be dropped and really shatter in a closeup caught on camera?
  • Or can I drop the device while getting the closeup and use After Effects to make the glass look like it's shattering in slow motion?

Thanks so much.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 15, 2013 10:40 AM   in reply to lovewebdev

You could track a shattered glass image onto the iPad and reveal it.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 15, 2013 12:05 PM   in reply to lovewebdev

Two crucial questions:

When you say "shatter", do you envision glass flying all over the place as it hits, or just the screen cracking?

Does this have to look photorealistic or more cartoon-like?

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 15, 2013 11:23 PM   in reply to lovewebdev

One way to do it would be to duplicate the video layer and manually roto or mask out just the frames of the screen when and after it impacts, precomp the roto-ed or masked portion of the ipad screen, add the AE Shatter effect and play with the settings until you get something that looks more or less realistic.  Or if you have CS6 you could try using the 3D Camera tracker to add a null object onto the ipad screen.  Then for added realism you could try getting a photo of a smashed iPad monitor or computer screen, parent it to the null, mask it to fit the ipad screen, add the shatter effect and adjust the effect and mask it as it moves after the impact.