Skip navigation
GingerGarden
Currently Being Moderated

How do you create a shot that has several different video "layers"?

Feb 15, 2013 11:44 AM

Tags: #layers #clips #premiere_pro_cs6 #after_effects_cs6

I saw an episode of Workaholics where Adam stays up all night and there is a part where he is sitting on the kitchen floor but there is a "second" Adam running around the house at the same time. I would like to try and recreate this but I'm new to Premiere and I don't know the exact terminology that would explain this better. For reference, it is episode 12 "telamerican horror story" of season 3.

Thanks!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 15, 2013 11:52 AM   in reply to GingerGarden

I believe that is called Picture in Picture

I think that is covered in one of the tutorials in message #3 http://forums.adobe.com/message/2276578

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 15, 2013 12:31 PM   in reply to GingerGarden

Ah, in that case, you would shoot the same actor, several times (different actions), against a greenscreen, and Key them out, superimposing each in your "background."

Besides PrPro, do you also have Adobe After Effects? If so, it has a neat feature, the RotoBrush, that could be useful for this (separating your actor from the scene, in which they were filmed).

Good luck,

Hunt

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 15, 2013 12:39 PM   in reply to GingerGarden

For the RotoBrush in AE, here is a good place to start: http://blogs.adobe.com/aftereffects/2010/04/roto-brush-in-after-effect s-cs.html

I think that you will probably find some treatments, very similar to what you describe.

Good luck,

Hunt

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 15, 2013 12:40 PM   in reply to John T Smith

Yes, that sort of thing is usally doen as a PiP or a split screen, which PrPro has presets for.