Skip navigation
tonyb1117
Currently Being Moderated

Help! My main content has moved outside of my page and ruined every other page in the site....

Feb 18, 2013 11:34 AM

Tags: #div #dreamweaver #errors #html5 #problems #cs6 #grid #fluid

dwcs6 problem.jpg

I am new at using dw and building sites and now I came accross a problem that I can't figure out. I was going to add new content to one of my pages in my site and this happened above. I quickly exited before saving and when I reopened the file it remained in the same place. Now along with this page being like this, the rest of my site was affected in the same manner. If anyone has any solutions to this problem or reasons for this to happen please let me know asap. Thank you.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 18, 2013 11:45 AM   in reply to tonyb1117

I assume you're using Fluid Grid Layouts and you've broken the code.  Working in Design View alone is perilous.  You need to get into the habit of working in code view or split view so you can see your code at all times.

Use the W3C on-line code validation tools to find your errors. 

CSS - http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/

HTML - http://validator.w3.org/

If you can't fix this yourself, start over.  Or upload your page & supporting files to a web space you control (your remote server).  Post the URL here so we can examine your code.

Nancy O.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 18, 2013 5:43 PM   in reply to Nancy O.

Just adding to Nancy's comment and with respect for Adobe to try to get us all involved in responsive web design, I think that the system that DW offers makes it too hard to venture outside of the parameters that the DW system has set.

I tried it once and immediately gave up.

There are many alternatives, both free of charge like http://foundation.zurb.com/ or an excellent commercial DW extension that you can find here http://www.projectseven.com/products/templates/pagepacks/css-builder2/ index.htm