Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Re-Linking Help - Premiere Pro CS6

Feb 19, 2013 9:36 AM

Tags: #missing #relink #mts #files #avchd #link #batch #media #connect #metadata #clips #linking #reconnect #connecting #batch_processing #reconnecting #relinking

Hey guys, thanks in advance for the help. I must admit that I am new to Premiere, and have really enjoyed working with it so far. Many of the things I needed in an NLE are in this package. With that being said, my background is in FCP, and I'd spent that last 9 years in that workflow.

Background -

Huge project. 20 TB of media for 30 episodes. Project is being assembled and edited in Premiere Pro CS6 at another facility. Once they finish the edit, they send the project file to me. They have all 20 TB of media duplicated on their SAN. I have all 20 TB of media on my SAN as well. The goal is to reconnect all of the clips locally, then render and fine-tune the edit.

Questions -

1) Is there a way to re-link all missing media from the Sequence independently of the project? (IE: I only need to re-link the media in the sequence.)

2) FCP7 had a batch "reconnect media" dialog that allowed us to get an overview of all clips "missing." Does that exist in Premiere? If not - is there a 3rd party solution?

3) Some of our media is AVCHD, MTS files... Many of the clips have the same name, but are from different reels. For example, doing a quick Spotlight search on my SAN and found 73 clips with this exact name: "00013.MTS"  - Is there a way to search by more than file name? IE, source media duration, source media created date, etc.?

4) Is there a way to generate a list of all missing media (and some metadata) for a sequence?

Thanks in advance for the help!

____

Aaron

LA Kings Hockey Team

@Hey_Aaron

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 19, 2013 1:47 PM   in reply to hey Aaron