Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Transcoded Videos are too Big

Feb 21, 2013 11:02 AM

Tags: #encore #encoder #transcode

Hi,

I'm new to Encore. I built my project this week with navigation menu for my 7 videos.

My videos are not big in general. If I leave Encore do transcode for my porject, this will create huge files for my videos that would

take up a lot of spaces on DVD.

I started it over. I imported my video. Right click on the file to edit Transcode setting. I played with Min., Traget, Max Bitrate.

If I lower anyone of them, I would reduce my file sizes but the quality are not great. I need to keep adjusting the bitrate and preview

my project and see if the video quality is acceptable.

My question is. Are there anyway to transcode small portion of my video. I don't need to wait until the whole process is finished.

I don't seem to find such option to do that. I'm forced to transcode my entire video before I turn my video to timeline and do a test.

Also, am I on the right track to minmize my transcoded video's filesizes?

Thanks.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 21, 2013 11:22 AM   in reply to commonguy101

If you export from PPro as DV AVI (regular or widescreen, as appropriate) and then tell Encore to use "automatic" transcoding, Encore will take care of the transcoding math for you, to make a "best fit" of video size to your type of disc... single or dual layer

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 21, 2013 11:53 AM   in reply to John T Smith

What the total length in minutes of your videos?

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 21, 2013 2:10 PM   in reply to commonguy101

Use DL to let Encore do the math for you or export from Premiere with mpeg2-dvd and import those files into Encore.

No transcoding is needed, just build a menu and burn.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 22, 2013 9:57 AM   in reply to commonguy101

From my experience, default automatic transcode in Encore will use a high quality setting which would generate huge transcoded file sizes.