Skip navigation
marleneboggs
Currently Being Moderated

Showing exterior views from interior without darkening interior.

Feb 22, 2013 7:32 AM

As a Realtor I need to be able to show both exterior views through windows as well as the interior space. I have a Sony cybershot camera but cannot find any settings to allow for this. Is there a way to correct photos on Photoshop?....or do I need a special camera/lens or what?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 22, 2013 7:38 AM   in reply to marleneboggs

This should be possible. Please post a representative picture for targeted guidance. You can do this via the camera icon at the top of the reply box, or at www.pixentral.com. If you use pixentral, please provide the URL so that we may open it.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 22, 2013 7:46 AM   in reply to marleneboggs

Well, you're welcome, but where is the picture?

|
    Mark as:
  • 99jon
    12,821 posts
    Jan 6, 2010
    Feb 22, 2013 10:21 AM   in reply to marleneboggs

It’s very difficult to do much because the highlights for the exterior are completely blown out so there is very little detail to recover.

The best you can do is to duplicate your image and darken the bottom copy to bring back what little information is available and then lighten the duplicate copy so that the interior looks OK.

You then apply a layer mask and paint over the windows with a brush and the foreground color chip set to black. Then re-save.

int.jpg

int2.png

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 22, 2013 10:21 AM   in reply to marleneboggs

Marlene,

Most of the outside view is blown out, but there is still some information available.

Here is what I did:

1. Opened picture file
    2. Duplicated background layer
    3. Opened a Levels adjustment layer above the background copy layer, and moved the left and middle sliders below the histogram to the right until the outside greenery showed up. That made the picture very dark. Not to worry. The adjustment layer has a built in mask.