Skip navigation
J Phil
Currently Being Moderated

Problems with Placeholder from Master Pages

Feb 22, 2013 7:33 PM

Tags: #indesign #can't #pages #master #click #placeholder

Hello. I am new in InDesign and I am trying to create a catalouge using indesign and I create a master page to be a guide for it.

I was finished creating it but when I applied and try it I couldn't click all the placeholders

the only thing I can click whenever I Shift+cmd click is the graphic and I couldn't click the place holders for the text that is also in the area of the graphic?

When I view the layers in Master It has 3 layers but when I view the layers in the actual pages it does not have any.

How can I be able to click it? what should I do?

Thank you.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 23, 2013 12:41 AM   in reply to J Phil

Objects on master pages in InDesign are locked as a rule. The idea is that you would place things on the master page that you wouldn't want to change on the document page. When you clicked on the object while holding Shift and Command, what you did is called Overriding the the master object to the document page. This can be done to all objects on the document page by going to the fly-out triangle on the Pages pallet and selecting Override All Master Page Items. Once overridden, objects may be reverted to master items, either all-together (Remove All Local Overrides) or individually (Remove Selected Local Overrides—note that this will only work on master items that you have selected at the time).