Skip navigation
FClintD
Currently Being Moderated

What is the best way to zoom in and out of pictures, documentary style?

Feb 23, 2013 3:59 PM

Tags: #adobe #premiere #documentary

I'm new to Adobe Premiere and I was looking to a make a mock documentary in which there would be slow zoom in's of photo's while the narrator is talking. If you could imagine what I'm talking about.

Could anyone tell me how you would accomplish that?

Thanks

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 23, 2013 4:03 PM   in reply to FClintD

Select Clip: Effects Window> Motion

Key frames.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 23, 2013 8:33 PM   in reply to FClintD

google "premiere motion keyframe tutorial"

* google is a search tool on the internet.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 23, 2013 8:33 PM   in reply to FClintD

My best guess is that they show up small because they ARE small.

You can zoom in on them, but the quality will suffer. The more you zoom above 100%, the worse it will look.

So, you have a choice, edit all of your video at the smallest frame size of all of your source material, or suffer with quality problems.

Most photos nowadays are bigger than the 1920X1080 of full HD. If you images are much larger, then you can pan around the image by changing the position. There is position and scale. You zoom with scale and pan around with position.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 24, 2013 2:07 AM   in reply to wfmc staffer

Best is to use the Achor Point (under Motion) it is more precise then panning grapfics on postiton.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tPSQQAhp3To

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 24, 2013 9:16 AM   in reply to Ann Bens

Ann,

Jeff is a good teacher, but he is even more dry than I am and that's saying something! While there are times that Anchor point comes in handy, like when you want the corner of a PiP to be in a specific place, or you want some fairly irregular rotation, it is generally easier to leave the anchor point alone. As you can see from the video, Jeff didn't touch it.