Skip navigation
NJTeddy
Currently Being Moderated

Photo Elements Organizer Question

Feb 24, 2013 4:13 AM

Tags: #photo #pictures #storage #organizer #elements #moving #storage_on_my_computer

I am new to the organizer.  Does it just provide a catalog of images on my hard drive or is it actually moving them into other folders if I create them?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 24, 2013 11:26 AM   in reply to NJTeddy

moving from sharing and storage forum to Elements

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 24, 2013 11:48 AM   in reply to NJTeddy

Organizer does not move your photos unless you specifically tell it to do so. Thus, normally the photos are left where they are. In addition, your photos are not stored in the Organizer; they are stored on your hard disk where you put them -- Organizer is simply a database that knows (among other things) where the photos are.

If you are going to use Organizer, I suggest you use the tags, captions and notes to organize your photos, and to help you search for them at a later time. This, in my opinion, gives you organizng capabilities that are not present in your operating system, and results in a more powerful organization than what you could obtain using folders.