Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Menues pixelated in DVD players fullscreen mode on iMac 27. Can I expect high quality resolution?

Feb 25, 2013 10:01 AM

I’ve imported a video from Premiere Pro to Encore and now I want to build a menu with high quality PSD images. The images I import and even the preset menues are just very pixelate when I build the DVD and look at it the DVD player on the iMac. I’ve read about pixel ratio, NTSC or PAL, 4:3 or 16:9. There’s so many alternatives and right now I’m just totally confused.

What can I say about my project. 1920x1080, AVCHD 1080p Square pixels, 25 fps, 16:9.

I’m no pro so this is what I read about it.

Anyone?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 25, 2013 10:15 AM   in reply to dabe76

I'm not a pro either. If your footage is HD. When you create your project, the DVD authoriing mode should be set to BluRay which lets you create a high quality menu (more than 720x480). I guss you chose DVD as the authoring mode. When you play our menu in full screen mode on a bigger monitor, everything will become pixelated.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 25, 2013 1:31 PM   in reply to dabe76

I don't have the exact number (I only do DVD) but my understanding is that a DVD is "about" one-quarter the resolution of a BluRay

Any upscaling of a DVD to a HiDef screen must be done in the player (or in a TV that has the "chip" to do upscaling)

If your player and/or TV do not have upscaling... or do not have GOOD upscaling hardware... a DVD on a HiDef screen will not look good

See the picture in reply #1 http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1120039 for an understanding of sizes

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 25, 2013 7:56 PM   in reply to dabe76

If you choose DVD as your authoring mode, the video res. is always set to

720 x 480. Your menu will be set to this pixel dimension.

If you pick BluRay, you have an option to pick larger screen size that's what you need.

I haven't tried it yet.