Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

"Return 3D Layer to Photoshop" from VP Issue

Feb 26, 2013 1:13 PM

Hey everyone,

I've got another 3D question today. Why is it that when I create planes in Vanishing Point (in this case, 2 walls and a floor) and check off "Render Grids to Photoshop" and "Return 3D Layer to Photoshop" that the grids and planes almost never line up with each other? Is it something I'm doing wrong in VP?

Some may already know that I'm a designer/illustrator/digital artist that is frequently building 2D/3D room settings for a client, and always looking for the quickest and most efficient way to achieve accurate perspective within the rooms.

Any reply is greatly appreciated, as always

Thanks!

Andy

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 26, 2013 2:42 PM   in reply to Andymc7

Hi Andy,

The feature is a mess, like just about everything 3D in Photoshop.

If you're very lucky, the camera will be correctly aligned relative to the planes and will only have the wrong focal length to create the correct perspective. For example, it might be 40 mm when it needs to be 35 mm. Fortunately, that's easy to adjust. Note that the focal length control is integer, so it may be impossible to make a perfect correction.

Often, the camera will be misaligned with respect to the planes in addition to having the wrong focal length.

Sometimes, the ground plane of the 3D layer will be at ceiling level instead of floor level when you make walls in addition to floor.

The ground plane will be XY instead of Photoshop's usual XZ.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 26, 2013 3:10 PM   in reply to Andymc7

If the bed doesn't come from a photo on which the VP planes were based then I don't think any of the problems with VP-to-3D-layer are to blame for your difficulties in getting the bed perspective to match your 3D virtual room perspective.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 26, 2013 7:23 PM   in reply to conroy