Skip navigation
Vladimir1214
Currently Being Moderated

Help, advice needed about  ssd&hdd and skratch disks setup for PS6

Mar 2, 2013 9:36 AM

Tags: #photoshop #performance #up #cs6 #ssd #hdd #boost

Hi ..  ,first of all, sory for  rise / asking a so persisting question ,..also  I read FAQ about this topic here in Adobe, also some blogs like John Nack on Adobe (http://blogs.adobe.com/jnack/2010/09/how-to-set-up-a-great-photoshop-m achine.html ) ,..and some threads here in Adobe phothshop forum ..  with clarifing replys of good ppl like Noel Carboni and others..   but I still have some doubts  mostly because  Im building a new pc ,need to start to work soon,and Im in a budget.. (I work as a 2d artist,graphic designer.)   I know the better set up would be an array of 3-4 or 5 ssd raid 0  with windows and ps all instaled in it  .. but ..for the moment I dont have that $$  so .. need to clear some grey spots .to choose which way to go.^^  

some aditional info may help you guys : I would  work with photoshop CS6 extended with files (600MB 300 dpi with 25 layers as average ; and 1 or 1.5 GB  with 20 layers max .. )

pc components I already have :      -cpu AMD FX8150 ,

- mobo 990X MSI,16 Gb ram (would up grade to 32 later.),

-VGA gtx660ti .

-  1 Tera HDD  for all the rest of the junk I collect and store

- 1   320 GB HDD WD  (from another pc)

( psu Antec gree 80bronce + 750watts ..also a gift ,27"ips monitor also a gift ^^)

just left  to buy HDD&SSD to start instalation of windows 7 pro and Photoshop .. (also painter12, and autodesk Maya. <-- Im learning it ) 

I was making calculations and I think I need around 60 gb for all the soft/ programs I have  (more or less )  so..  (correct me if Imwrong)

so, one 120gb SSD  with all the software instaled in it  ..it would left me with only 60 gb for skratch ..   and for  1 GB  illustration  in 300dpi  with 20-25 layers on it .. I would be  in problems for sure.. Im wrrong ?