Skip navigation
Bogi13
Currently Being Moderated

CSS

Mar 3, 2013 5:38 AM

I am a beginner, I created my first webpage with CSS , which I want to make a template http://www.naszchleb.pl/test2/ , I have encountered a few problems.

1. how to center a page in the internet/browser ?  

now it is centered a I have put a left margin in the #container of 450 px but I know I should have put " auto" on both left and right margin in the #container it page should center itself, it my case it did not , where did  I make an error ?

2. I donot know how to align pictures in the sidebar with with H3 box -white  ( with bread names) , as you can see pictures are wider on the left than the white box.

3. Other remarks to the CSS to make this page look better ?

Thx

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 3, 2013 8:58 AM   in reply to Bogi13

1. how to center a page in the internet/browser ? 

now it is centered a I have put a left margin in the #container of 450 px but I know I should have put " auto" on both left and right margin in the #container it page should center itself, it my case it did not , where did  I make an error ?

You still have a 450px margin on the left of the #container div in your stylesheet! Change that to "auto" and your page will center.

#container {

width: 960px;

margin-right: auto;

margin-left: 450px;

}

2. I donot know how to align pictures in the sidebar with with H3 box -white  ( with bread names) , as you can see pictures are wider on the left than the white box.

The .news h3 element is also inheriting the left-hand border that you specify in the h3 rule! So, to get rid of that, just add "border:none;" to the .news h3 rule. Now see what happens.

3. Other remarks to the CSS to make this page look better ?

Just keep trying. It's not bad as it is.

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 3, 2013 10:19 AM   in reply to Bogi13

Try this instead of what you have now.

body {

font-family: Verdana, Geneva, sans-serif;

background-color: #ccc;

width: 960px;