Currently Being Moderated

Illustrator CS5: How to work with multiple placed graphics going to print

Mar 5, 2013 10:04 AM

Tags: #illustrator #cs5 #adobe #export #printing #objects

Illustrator CS5 windows platform

Novice user

Hi,

I have been trying to create what I think should be a simple graphic:

10 third party logos placed in a single file.

The finished graphic is to be sent to a mechandizing company in vector format to be embossed onto journals (to give out at an event)

I have saved the file as eps and sent it to the distributer - who rejected the file saying it was "wrong"

I made sure that each individual logo was an eps, saved as a new eps and was again told it was "wrong" and that the file opens as a bitmap.

I'm pretty new to illustrator and have searched extensively for a solution to the above problem.

Is there a workflow that I should follow to ensure that my final graphic will open as a vector and not as a bitmap?

Thank you

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 5, 2013 10:18 AM   in reply to vtayloracamp

Save as a PDF from AI.

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 5, 2013 10:33 AM   in reply to vtayloracamp

Is there a workflow that I should follow to ensure that my final graphic will open as a vector and not as a bitmap?

Take Larry's advice above, but it only applies if those logos were vector graphics to begin with. The (mostly) obsolete EPS format can contain vector, raster, or a combination of both. If one or more of the logos you placed in the layout is made up of pixels, nothing will change it to vectors automatically.

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 5, 2013 10:34 AM   in reply to vtayloracamp

EPS artwork needn't necessarily be vector. So you might need to vectorize the logos first.

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 5, 2013 10:43 AM   in reply to vtayloracamp