Skip navigation
infridbone
Currently Being Moderated

Problems getting my open source mac Bosto tablet driver to work

Mar 16, 2013 5:19 PM

Tags: #driver

Hi,

I own an excellent Bosto 19mb tablet, which is a cintiq clone (but much cheaper) which alas only works for pc. You can see it here: http://bosto-tablet.com/

However, I'm a good mac/iOS developer so I've written an open source driver for it. Source is here: https://github.com/georgeappwizards/BostoTabletDriverMac

It works really swetly with all but 2 applications:

Corel painter 12 and

Photoshop Cs5.1

I'm downloading a trial of CS6 as I write this but I imagine it will have the same problem.

I have the bosto tablet monitor and my wacom tablet both plugged into my system (driver conflicts don't exist on mac). I also pretty well understand all the HID events etc, needed to make the driver work.

I'm generating identical events to my wacom tablet, which is why I can't for the life of me figure out why i have problems with photoshop.

The problems are as follows:

Photoshop CS5.1

Holding the pen down and drawing does not draw a line, it will draw a dot, or a straight line from the point where the pen touched the tablet, to an approximation (looks like a mean) of the end point,

In photoshop, in the brush dynamic settings, I get the "pressure not supported" icon.

When my wacom pen generates an "enter" proximity event [that is, when I put it near the wacom tablet], the triangle dissapears,

When my bosto pen (for which I'm writing the driver) enters [that is, when I put it near the bosto screen], the triangle appears again.

These are my questions:

How on earth does wacom get photoshop to treat it as a pressure sensitive device?

Is photoshop listening to different events, or are there undocumented transactions going on which allow the wacom tablet to work, but cause my one to draw dots or straight lines?