Skip navigation
Anjalena
Currently Being Moderated

Objects, Paths, Guides hidden until Mouse over

Mar 19, 2013 8:53 PM

Tags: #illustrator #problem #issue #paths #hidden #disappear #guides #mouse_over

I'm new to using Illustrator. I have version CS6. I'm going through the Lynda.com Illustrator CS6 Essentials tutorials and watching the Chapter 2, Video 5: Using rulers, guides, and grids.

The document we're looking at for this video is supposed to have Guides showing already. I can see them in the video. But in my Illustrator, they're not there. I made sure that guides are turned on and that they're not locked. I can add guides and move them. HOWEVER, when I move my mouse away from the guide that I placed there, it disappears until I mouse over it again. But the guides that are supposed to be in this file are still not showing up, even if I mouse over where they should be.

I was also playing with one of the flowers in the file and I ungrouped all the parts of the flower.... and the flower parts/paths disappeared. But each part will show up if I mouse over them individually until I move my mouse cursor away again.

What the heck is going on? I've obviously got a setting that's wrong somewhere but I don't know what it is. Can anyone help me?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 19, 2013 9:16 PM   in reply to Anjalena

Have you accidentially hit the toggle for Show/Hide Edges which is Cmd(Ctrl)-H?

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 20, 2013 3:16 AM   in reply to Anjalena

Anjalena,

You may move down the list here; 4) is reversible:

You may try the following (you may have tried/done some of them already) and see whether it helps:

1) Close down Illy and open again;

2) Restart the computer;

3) Close down Illy and press Ctrl+Alt+Shift/Cmd+Option+Shift during startup (irreversible);

4) Move the folder with Illy closed (reversible);

5) Look through and try out the relevant among the Other options;

Even more seriously, you may: